seeds and other miseries

It seems strange to be thinking about gardening with snow (back) on the ground.  Be that as it may, we are slowly amassing supplies and I find myself thinking back to the last time I attempted seed-starting and the challenges experienced in the midst of that attempt. Now, this time around most of our seed-starting is to stave off the frustration of waiting to get into the garden proper, and another part is to give the Bub the experience the magic of watching a seed sprout into beautiful greenness.  Yet another part is that we can just get more types of plants to try out from seed than from seedling, at a lower price.  Lastly, NO VEGETABLES!

We are starting a variety of plants from seed, mostly of the bee-attracting variety.  Borage, Echinacea, Lemon Mint, Coriander, Phacelia, Bachelor’s Buttons and Lemon Balm.  We’ll be starting Basil and Catnip, plus giving chamomile a stab.  Some will be direct sow, like the purslane (sweet Jesus I love me some purslane.)  Many will go into those make-’em-yrself newspaper pots in a location-to-be-determined later.  If they don’t germinate, we’ll move on.

I WILL HAVE NO EMOTIONAL ATTACHMENT TO THESE SEEDS!

*ahem*

Despite my reticence, I am excited about this garden.  The next step is waiting for the pile of snow to melt so I can measure how large each of the flower beds is.

This entry was posted in this is not a homestead. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to seeds and other miseries

  1. Gina says:

    I have actually cried over seedlings that failed to thrive. I get attached every damn time.

Leave a comment